I’m new to micro and need help

Viewing 14 reply threads
  • Author
      souljah23
      Participant

Hello Everyone,

Firstly I would like to congratulate Aaron on a fantastic site, looks good, easy to use and loaded with useful information(thanks to the users who provide alot of this info too).

Anyway, I am new to the micro world and have just signed up so this is my virgin post :smiley9: and have a few questions.

Firstly, I want to buy some micro cars to play around with in the house and in the garage. I mainly just interested in getting a 4 car set-up so me and my friends can have some mini races and fun over a couple of beers on the weekend. I dont plan on going to crazy and setting up the best racer I can or anything (i’m not ruling that out further down the track either 😀 )

Secondly, I have a very small and limited budget and will be looking at getting 4 evenly matched cars (with different bodies of course).

My big questions are:

What types of car should I get?

I am curently looking at the Iwaver 01 RTR cars(limited budget) that are being sold off cheaply through the forums and would like to know what opinions people have about those cars? What hop-up parts should i invest in to go with them?

What hop-ups should I look at in the begining when I want to have a little more “fun” or to crank up the racing speed?
      What hop-ups should I get to minimize racing damage?
      What precautions should i take with a home made race track to minimize damage(i.e surface, types of corners etc)?
      What sort of batteries should I use, what charger? links or online store info would be very helpful.

I would dearly love a one of those AWD kyoshos:smiley15: but I am dreaming if I think I can afford nearly $300 for one car.

Sorry about all the questions but with a limited budget I would like to try and get it right the first time.

Thank you for any help provided and I look forward to contributing more to the forums in the future,
      Cheers,
      Souljah23