Stacking Stock FETs

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      vroomvroom55
      Participant

I have 2 sets of stock xmods FETs taken from the evos, is it possible for me to stack those FETs on top of another car’s stock FETs so it becomes a 2*3 stack of stock FETs? Would this help the car? so maybe i could run one of those high end stock FET motors with lithiums, because the high end stock ones are ment to be ran with the stock batteries which are 4 AAAs. I realy need someones response because i have no idea if it will be good or not, because i don’t want to pay someone $10 to do it jsut to find out that it did absolutely nothing.

Renton
      Participant

im no expert when it comes to electricty.

but something tells me unless they are the same fets this would not be a good idea.

anyone who knows there electrics want to help out??

vroomvroom55
      Participant

They are all the same FETs, but im not sure if it would even do anything because they are the stock FETs, and if would work, would a 2*3 stack of the stock Xmods Evo FETs be equivalent to a 2*1 stack or maybe even a 2*2 stack of upgraded FETs?

Participant

When you stack Fets, the resistance gets cut in half, and the current-handling capabilities essentially double. I say essentially because Fets were never meant to be “stacked” on top of each other in the first place – The bottom Fet does not have the air contact to effectively cool itself and thus lends itself to failure under hard abuse i.e. Lithium.

A simple answer is yes, a 2×3 stack of stock Fets would help. BUT! If you want to get your moneys’ worth, IMO, I’d have a 2×2 or 2×3 stack of upgraded EVO Fets installed. They have much better specs than the stock units. If you can have the two extra sets of stock-EVO Fets stacked on your car for cheap, you could try it. But I am not sure of the stock EVO Fet’s specs – A 2×3 stack of Stock-EVO Fets might only be as good as a single-layer of upgraded-EVO Fets.

Hope this helps:smiley14:

betty.k