The gateway to electronics???

Home Forums General Chat The gateway to electronics???

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      icebreaka
      Participant

Lols with the topic..

I’m just wondering how all you people learnt about electronics .. transistors, resistors, fets whatever.. all that stuff. and soldering .. and so on and so on..

Cos i am a total newbie.. I don’t wanna be stuck forever with a stock electronics mini-z.. and i hate all my bit-charg’s that get broken when i try to change the antenna.. lols.. (bad @ soldering) …

So yeh.. jus wanna learn the “gateway” into being an electronics professional.. 😉 hehe.. i plan to do electrical engineering or telecommunications engineering in uni next year.. maybe that will help! 😉 ..

But at the moment.. I suck at soldering.. i don’t know all the electronics mumbo jumbo.. and my hands are too shaky..

Thus.. can i get tips PLEASE!!! 😉 .. hehe.. i saw a $10 electronics learning magazine in jaycar maybe that will help?? hehe u reckon? ehehe.. please give me a method of learning electronics!

thnx guys… ( inspire me 😉 )

betty.k
      Participant

the first kits i got was a fm microphone and a multi meter. any of the kits from dick smith or jaycar are worth buying as they have little booklets explaining the basics of the components and soldering tips. there’s lots to choose from so you’ll find something you’ll like:8ball:

PandaBear
      Participant

If anybody wants the full trilogy #1/#2/#3 of Dick Smith’s FUNWAY project books in mint condition pls let me know… $10 postage and they’re yours. 🙂

Electronics is 90% common sense and 9% theory, 1% pure luck. You can do it “hard knocks” style and read basic primers like the FUNWAY etc, then Silicon Chip (SC) magazine or back issues of Electronics Australia (EA) — with these mags, the older the better as imho current issues don’t teach you much ‘basics’.