TT-01 Chassis upgrades

Home Forums 1/8, 1/10, 1/12, 1/18 – Discussion TT-01 Chassis upgrades

Viewing 22 reply threads
  • Author
      Ka_Bluey
      Participant

Hi all, im a nOOb to this site so please go easy…nah knock yourself out!!

Ok so i have got my first RC a TT-01 kit from Hobby One up here in Brisvegas. I got the whole kit (including batt, charger, controller, scizzors) for $375 which i dont think is too bad.
      Altho now thinking about it, i could have bought a better chassis for the same price I have spent now on upgrading some bits and pieces.

So my question is. I want to make the car go faster. So far i have full ball bearing bearings, alloy drive shaft, adjustable dampers, limit-less ESC and 21t double motor, i have noticed a difference from the 27turn (540 type) motor.

I have been looking at getting bigger/smaller spur gears for the car. Can anyone please help me out as to how the spurs/gears work?? Currently on the motor i have a 19t spur and a 58t gear (stock). How do i go about upgrading and what changes will this make??

Please help..

klims
      Participant

by changing the spur gear you change the gear ratio between the gear on the motor and the drive gear. a bigger spur gear (smaller ratio) mean better top speed but less acceleration and a smaller spur gear (larger ratio) means better acceleration. just like in your car 1st gear will give you great acceleration, but crap top end whereas 5th gear will be opposite. also due to the higher load on the motor with the larger spur gear it tends to drain the batteries quicker.

Dangerous Dave
      Participant

the one on the motor is referred to as the Pinion, and it’s this one that is by far the most easily changed gear.
      when buying new gears, make sure they are compatible (shaft size, Imp/Metric and pitch).. Tamiya stuff is metric.
      and yeah, like klims said – small pinion is like 1st gear, bigger one like 5th…

leonli17
      Participant