Tyres for smooth concrete

Viewing 27 reply threads
  • Author
      aussie_miniz
      Participant

Great website,

Hi all, I am new to the game of mini-z racing, I have done a bit of 1/10 offroad with a RC10B3 out at Knox. I now have a firelap2.0 and 4.0, I am looking to host some races in my shed, 12x6m, the floor is smooth concrete so I am after the best grip tyre I can get. What are your experiences with tyres on this surface, Any help with this would be great.

ken_wyleung
      Participant

Hi,

Welcome to the world of Mini-Z, where do you want to setup your track (indoor or outdoor)? It is very important for select the material for your track.

By the way, where are you?we also looking for some good players to play with.clap.gif

aussie_miniz
      Participant

Hey Ken,

My track will be indoors, well in my shed anyway. I live in South Gippsland(near Phillip Island), about 90km from Melbourne, thats why I gave up racing a Knox. I have tried my car in the house on floor boards but it keeps spinning out on corners, which is what it does in the shed on the concrete. I see ausmicro are selling a few types of tyres, but I am unsure which way to go. How do you run your car Ken, have you got many hopups, run stock engines etc. Thanks for the reply

ken_wyleung
      Participant

For the Carpet, you can try to get them from large hardware shop, the carpet is design for car inside use, very short or not hair; arround AUD20.00 /M.

For the car, we are using Atomic Front 10 degree and Rear 10 degree for MR-02 (MM and RM), Front 20 degree and Rear 10 degree for MR-01. For other hopups,just some standard hopups is fine, like Kyosho Ball Diff, ball bearing, carbon T platewith Atomic Stock motor.

If you have time at Friday night, I will like to show you our race and track in Ringwood.

Enjoy the Mini-Z!

betty.k
      Participant

gandini foams are the best for concretexp1700.gif8ball.gif

peteWah
      Participant

Hi there,