What kind of battery packs are you using and why?.

Home Forums 1/8, 1/10, 1/12, 1/18 – Discussion What kind of battery packs are you using and why?.

Viewing 19 reply threads
  • Author
      micro_Amps
      Participant

Let us know what you use, and how they go. There s lots of choices out there and I d like to know which you think are better.
      :)uA

betty.k
      Participant

i’m just learning myself, i started out with nicad stick packs which were great to get me going. but i bought a gp 3300 nimh pack and the power increase is huge. properly cycled a nicad can probably kick hard too, but for bashing around like i do on an irregular basis i’m sold on nimh.:8ball:

PandaBear
      Participant

I find NiMH subCs get a bit “soft” after about 20 charges… I miss 2000 nicads! 🙂

GP & Panasonic 3000 NiMHs are old hat – yesterday’s technology & not really built for RC. 3300s are the ideal ones designed for RC, Sanyo and GPs are the go.

Sanyo 3600s are available but not all that much more flash compared to 3300s.. some suspect its all a marketing ploy. 👿 Cost more too.

Nicad RC2000s otoh can take abuse that we hurl at it, plus its easier to store packs totally flat too. (NiMH should be stored partially charged & cycled once a month.)

kevsta
      Participant

I’m also learning the ropes with all these batteries.

I’ve placed an order for those g-maxx 3300 buy one get one free from rcmart for $29.95 USD.

Was also looking at gp 3300 and intellect 3300 from the usual places…

🙂

merc-blue
      Participant

i would suggest getting decent cells the untra generic ones die pretty quick get onto http://www.harrisrc.com
      there a aussie battery mathcing company they do great cells and great prices for bashing iwould recomend the dirty dozen 2 battery packs that are unmatched but will still be great for bashing they say the numbers on these cell are closer than most other unmatched packs

TallduDe
      Participant

buy 1 get 1 free??